Sex Offender Registration Act
At Peter J. Johnson Law Office, PLLC we work hard to ensure our clients are informed as to how changes in the law may impact their court proceedings, their rights, and their sentencing. It’s not just about fighting for our clients in the courtroom; we want our clients to feel like they have all the necessary information to understand the charges they face and all of the potential outcomes they can face. This attention to detail is just one reason Peter J. Johnson is considered a leading Michigan criminal attorney.
Senate Bill 221 has been signed into law and took effect on April 1, 2014 with big changes to the way convicted sex offenders are treated. Here’s what you need to know:
All registrants must pay a $50 fee annually (with a $550 lifetime maximum) to register. This fee allegedly goes toward maintaining the public sex offender registration website. It can be waived for 90 days if the registrant can prove indigence (inability to pay); anyone who fails to pay the fee within 90 days of the due date will be considered guilty of a misdemeanor.
The law also changes your month of verification based on the month of your birth. Registrants will have the entire month to verify instead of the old standard of 15 days; indigence is still an option for registrants but needs to be verified every 90 days as the law currently states. Tier I registrants report once per year during their birth month, Tier II registrants report twice per year, and Tier III registrants report four times per year. http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2013-2014/publicact/pdf/2013-PA-0149.pdf
It is vital that you understand the way in which this new legislation affects your registration and verification deadlines. You should have received an email from the Michigan State Police outlining how these changes impact you specifically. For more information or inquiries please visit www.AttorneyPeterJohnson.com or contact us at 269.982.1100.